Haskell Trophy

2016 Haskell Trophy Winner - Newton Green

A team shall consist of one pair from each Club.

This is a scratch foursomes match-play competition.  All Rounds are to be played over 36 holes to a conclusion - i.e. if a team is four up after 18 holes, they start at four up on the first hole of the second 18.

The venues will be drawn on a Home or Away basis.  There are no set date for each Round to be played - each match is by agreement between the Clubs within a specified time frame - the only exceptions are the Semi-Finals and Final, which will be held at neutral courses on specified dates, chosen by the SLCGA.


2018 Draw and Information

Haskell Draw 2018

Haskell Rules 2018

Haskell Result Sheet 2018



The Haskell Trophy was presented to the SLCGA in 1969 by Granville Haskell, a well known Ipswich businessman who owned a jewellers shop in Tavern Street and who was a long-standing member of Purdis Heath Golf Club.  He was a wonderful supporter of women's golf and presented his trophy after the Final every year for as long as he was able.  Habitually, he turned up with generous prizes for the winners.  He died in 1998 at the age of 82.


The trophy itself is a beautiful cup, tall and blessed with elegant simplicity and gracefully curving handles.  Its winners would most probably tell you that, outside the inter-county matches and arguably the regional open competitions, the Haskell Trophy matches constitute the most enjoyable golf they play.  Competition is always keen and it is hard to beat a foursomes match played between skilful golfers in good form.  The 36-hole format demands determination and prolonged concentration and usually offers up plenty of swings and roundabouts!  And then there is lunch and what went before it might well be turned on its head afterwards.

The Final match is refereed with the score being announced at the end of each hole so that spectators find it easy to become involved.  More spectators would be very welcome.  See Events for the date, which is usually in mid-August.

Julie Latimer-Jones



Haskell Winners

1969     Gorleston
1970     Lowestoft
1971     Ipswich
1972     Royal Worlington
1973     Royal Worlington
1974     Royal Worlington
1975     Ipswich
1976     Aldeburgh
1977     Bury St Edmunds
1978     Aldeburgh
1979     Stoke by Nayland
1980     Woodbridge
1981     Aldeburgh
1982     Flempton
1983     Rookery Park
1984     Aldeburgh
1985     Aldeburgh
1986     Aldeburgh
1987     Felixstowe
1988     Felixstowe
1989     Bungay
1990     Royal Worlington
1991     Flempton
1992     Royal Worlington
1993     Royal Worlington
1994     Felixstowe
1995     Flempton
1996     Bury St Edmunds
1997     Flempton
1998     Flempton
1999     Stowmarket
2000     Felixstowe
2001     Felixstowe
2002     Stowmarket
2003     Rookery Park
2004     Felixstowe
2005     Rookery Park
2006     Stowmarket
2007     Ipswich
2008     Felixstowe
2009     Felixstowe
2010     Ipswich
2011     Aldeburgh
2012     Felixstowe
2013     Newton Green
2014     Felixstowe

2015     Ipswich