Stearn Trophy

2016 Winner - Haverhill

A team shall consist of three pairs from each Club - each player having a handicap within the range of 12-20 inclusive.

This is a foursomes competition, played off 1/2 the difference of combined handicaps.

All rounds to be played over 36 holes to a conclusion, i.e. if a team is four up after eighteen holes, they start at four up on the first hole of the second eighteen.

The venues for the Preliminary, First and Second Rounds will be drawn on a home or away basis on set dates.  The Semi-Finals and Final shall be played on neutral courses, on specified dates, chosen by the SLCGA.


2018 Draw and Information

Draw Sheet Stearn 2018

Stearn Rules 2018

Stearn Result Sheet 2018

Competition Guidelines 2018

Caddy Guidelines



The Stearn Trophy was presented to the County by Mrs Hilda Stearn, a senior member of Stowmarket Golf Club and President of the County in the mid-eighties.  She was a good-natured, enthusiastic and very supportive President who loved the game of golf and was keen to leave the County a legacy of her Presidency.  To satisfy her wish, the new Competition was introduced.

It was decided that the format would follow that of the Haskell Trophy, but with a larger team and for a different handicap range that would give the good 'Club' golfers somethingn to play for within the County.  At the time, the Governing Body was aware that the Clubs might be reluctant to use another day in their calendar to host a further inter-club competition, so it was decided that the Stearn Trophy should play behind the Haskell Trophy on the first Monday of the month.  There was some considerable use of 'the little grey cells' to work out a system whereby the Stearn team should follow their Haskell team for as long as both remained in their separate competitions and what would happen when that arrangement broke down.  However, worked out it was and the arrangement panned out pretty well over the next 25 years or so, until the arrangements for the Haskell were altered which gave the Stearn autonomy.

Hilda Stearn's Stowmarket club fittingly won the first playing of the Stearn Trophy and has gone on to the most prolific winner of this competition with seven subsequent victories to date.  She would have been delighted.

In 2002 her daughter, Hilary Haydon, replaced the original trophy with a beautiful silver bowl.

Julie Latimer-Jones



1985     Stowmarket
1986     Bungay

1987     Gorleston
1988     Stowmarket

1989     Stowmarket
1990     Bungay

1991     Flempton
1992     Royal Worlington

1993     Aldeburgh
1994     Waldringfield

1995     Aldeburgh
1996     Stoke by Nayland

1997     Felixstowe
1998     Diss

1999     Aldeburgh
2000     Stowmarket

2001     Bungay
2002     Stoke by Nayland

2003     Ipswich
2004     Stowmarket

2005     Stowmarket
2006     Stowmarket

2007     Bungay
2008     Fynn Valley

2009     Fynn Valley
2010     Felixstowe

2011     Gorleston
2012     Felixstowe
2013     Felixstowe
2014     Aldeburgh

2015    Woodbridge