Weston Trophy, Plate & Bowl

2019 Weston Trophy Winner

Ipswich GC

2019 Weston Plate Winner

Bungay GC

2019 Weston Bowl Winner

Halesworth GC

General Information

The Weston Team consists of 5 players, playing singles matchplay off scratch.  All matches are played over 18 holes.  Matches are played on a Home or Away basis (determined by a Draw) on dates agreed by the participating Clubs in each Division.  All matches must be played by the end of August.

The Weston follows a league format and, at the end of the season, Clubs may be promoted or relegated – dependent upon the number of points they score in relation to the other Clubs in their Division.

The winning Captains of each Division will be invited to collect their Trophy, Plate or Bowl at the following year’s AGM

Trophy History

The Weston Trophy, presented in 1980 by the retiring President, Mrs Toddles Weston, has undergone more changes of playing format than any other county interclub competition. The only constant has been that a Weston team comprises five golfers playing off scratch.

The competition was instigated originally with the fell intention of improving the competitive element of the county’s best club golfers who might be able to go through to play at inter-county level. At the same time, the hope was that the clubs would play within their teams an ‘improving golfer’ who would benefit particularly from playing against golfers of a better standard than her own. This was an idealist’s point of view and perhaps naïve because, from the moment that the Weston Trophy became available, the desire to win it overcame any idealism that might have prevailed without it.

Through the following years, changes to the format came and went. To begin with the players could be put out in any order, which followed the idea of giving the improving golfer experience. But, oddly enough, the ‘lambs to the slaughter’ did not mind this as much as the best golfers who complained when they found themselves playing one of the ‘improvers’ that they did not get such a good game as they might have done in other circumstances. It all depended, of course, on one’s point of view, but the competition rules reverted to putting the players out in handicap order and, in consequence, the clubs put out the five lowest handicap players they could muster. It’s not certain whether an appeal was ever made to the best golfers in Suffolk to lend a helping hand to their less experienced sisters but, in any event, idealism became a ‘dead duck’!

Over the years, there have been four leagues, semi-finals and finals, top two of each league going here, bottom two going there. Now there are three divisions and the two up and two down prevails and once more the teams may be played in any order of handicap. It seems the idealistic viewpoint does have a chance to succeed if anyone is brave enough to give it a try, but still the arguments about the best way forward are not really settled. There have been requests recently for clubs to be allowed to field more than one team but, with a trophy at stake, this has been deemed unfair.

Perhaps it is fortunate that Toddles Weston, a delightful and humorous lady, is not here to see how many divisions of opinion have followed her generous gift of a beautiful trophy which goes to the winners of Division One and we now have also the Weston Plate and the Weston Bowl for the winners of Divisions Two and Three respectively.

Looking at the list of Weston Trophy winners, only eight clubs have featured since 1980. Perhaps that is a situation that speaks for itself and perhaps, like Fagin in Oliver the musical, we ‘need to think it out again’ so that the improving golfers really do get a chance to play the best golfers in Suffolk, even if it’s only once!

Julie Latimer-Jones

Past Winners

Weston Trophy Winners

(Presented in 1980 by Mrs Weston – during her County Presidency)

2019 Ipswich
2018 Ipswich
2017 Ipswich
2016 Ipswich
2015 Ipswich
2014 Ipswich
2013 Ipswich
2012 Ipswich
2011 Aldeburgh
2010 Felixstowe
2009 Stowmarket
2008 Felixstowe
2007 Felixstowe
2006 Felixstowe
2005 Felixstowe
2004 Felixstowe
2003 Felixstowe
2002 Rookery Park
2001 Ipswich
2000 Rookery Park
1999 Bury St Edmunds
1998 Felixstowe
1997 Felixstowe
1996 Flempton
1995 Felixstowe
1994 Royal Worlington
1993 Ipswich
1992 Ipswich
1991 Ipswich
1990 Aldeburgh
1989 Felixstowe

Weston Plate
(Donated by Mrs Sue Birrell in 2009)

2019 Bungay
2018 Bury St Edmunds
2017 Stowmarket
2016 Woodbridge
2015 Bury St Edmunds
2014 Felixstowe
2013 Newton Green
2012 Newton Green
2011 Rookery Park
2010 Hintlesham
2009 Flempton

Weston Bowl
(Donated by the SLCGA in 2013)

2019 Halesworth
2018 Thorpeness
2017 Flempton
2016 Rookery Park
2015 Rushmere
2014 Gorleston
2013  Rushmere

Join In

Our Events

Explore our list of upcoming events and, if you need further information, please get in touch.